The Federal Judicial Portraits of Puerto Rico  - A portrait series by David Wells Roth
  View the portraits About the Artist Contact Home
  Press       Photos       Project History    Puerto Rico Federal Courthouse

The Judicial Portraits of Puerto Rico's Federal Court

After the Spanish-American war ended in 1899 and Puerto Rico was ceded to the United States, a federal court was installed in old San Juan and a provisional judge was appointed to the bench.  Since the establishment of Puerto Rico as a territory, there have been thirty Federal Judges appointed to the court in Puerto Rico.  As is generally the tradition in the US court system, portraits are commissioned to preserve and document the legacy and historical presence of the sitting Judges.  For reasons unknown, this tradition was not followed in Puerto Rico until 2007 when a single artist was commissioned by the court to paint the portraits of all 33 judges in the court’s history through the present day.  Please click to see the portraits and to learn more about this historical project.

The central atrium of the  Clemente Ruiz-Nazario U.S. Courthouse in San Juan, Puerto Rico with the portraits by David Wells Roth